• info@charity-kalender.de

Monthly Archive August 1, 2021

August-Picture: Augur buzzard

Next to the jackal buzzard the augur buzzard is one of only two larger species of buzzards in Africa. He lives in ranges usually starting from 1.500 meters – as well as here on this picture, which was taken at the Aberdare national park. Despite of this augur buzzards are no endangered species. His range is from Ethiopia down to Namibia wherever there are regions at such a height.

 

The body size of the bird is about 60 cm, while the wingspan goes up to 1.50 meter. Seen from below augur buzzards are nearly completely white with the exception of the black-framed feather tips. Heard and upper side are mainly blackish-gray with a slight part of white. There also are melanistic bird in the nature, which are entirely black on the upper side.

 

Mostly these birds live in monogamous pairs, one nest is being bred more often. Regarding the nutrition augur buzzards are not picky and take what they can get. Researches of the stomach content of dead birds showed that reptiles – from lizards to snakes – mostly make up to 60% of their food. Next to them smaller mammals like rats, hyraxes and hares are on their list, while also chicken and other ground living birds of their sizes such as francolins can become a victim.

• info@charity-kalender.de

Monatsarchiv 01.08.

August-Bild: Augurbussard

Beim Augurbussard handelt es sich neben dem Schakalbussard um eine von nur zwei großen Bussardarten Afrikas. Er kommt in Afrika oft erst in Höhenlagen ab 1.500 Metern vor wie auch hier auf dem Foto in den Aberdare Mountains. Trotz dieser Spezialität ist es keine bedrohte Art. Vielmehr kann man den Augurbussard von Äthiopien südwärts bis nach Namibia finden – entsprechende Höhenlagen vorausgesetzt.

 

Die Körpergröße des Vogels beträgt bis 60 cm, die mächtige Flügelspannweite erstreckt sich auf bis zu 1,50 Meter. Von unten gesehen sind die Augurbussarde fast weiß mit Ausnahme der schwarz umrandeten Federspitzen. Kopf- und Oberseite sind hingegen schwarzgrau mit leichten Weißanteil. Es existiert aber auch einen Anteil melanistischer Vögel in der Natur, die also komplett schwarz auf der Oberseite sind.

 

Meist leben die Vögel in Paarbindung, ein Nest wird auch häufiger bebrütet. Was die Ernährung angeht, sind die Augurbussarde nicht wählerisch und nehmen das, was sie bekommen können. Untersuchungen am Mageninhalt toter Vögel haben allerdings ergeben, dass Reptilien – von Eidechsen bis hin zu Schlangen – meist über 60% der Nahrung ausmachen. Ansonsten stehen Ratten, seltener Schliefer und Hasen auf dem Speiseplan, auch Hühner und ähnliche bodenlebende Vögel wie Frankoline können mal zum Opfer werden.

Kalenderbilder „Wildlife of Namibia 2022“